Blind Oscar Predictions

I do not follow what happens in Hollywood. As a matter of fact, when I hear the name Oscar, I think of the green furry guy that lives on Sesame Street. But if my sources (yahoo! news) are correct, the Oscars are coming up soon. Since I live in South Korea, I have not seen any of the movies. As a matter of fact, I have only heard of a couple movies that were released in 2010. So I have decided to look up movie titles on Wikipedia that were released in 2010 and make some Oscar predictions based on titles alone.

Actor in a Leading Role: Will Forte; MacGruber. Clearly, if the film is named after a character, the actor of said character did an amazing job.

Actor in a Supporting Role: Danny Devito; Solitary Man. Mr. Devito is listed as the second male actor in a movie title that makes me think of one man. So, Danny Devito must have really impressed some people in order to be the other man in a solitary man’s world.

Actress in a Leading Role: Burlesque. Maybe I just want to see the lead female in a movie titled Burlesque. . . either way she gets my vote.

Actress in a Supporting Role: 8: The Mormon Proposition. The second wife always has a harder job.

Animated Feature Film: Iron Man 2.  I used to  love to read comic books! I cannot believe that a comic book adaptation has been put on the silver screen!

Cinematography: Twilight Saga: Eclipse. A movie that is clearly about the earth’s rotation around the sun will, no doubt, use state-of-the-art cameras and filters to deliver stunning sights of our galaxy. The title of this film makes me wish there was an “Educational” category as well.

Documentary Feature: Rush: Beyond the Lighted Stage. Everytime the hair band does anything they do it so well that people can’t help but pump their fists. I’m sure this documentary is no exception. I would recommend wearing a helmet to the theatre.

Documentary Short Subject: I Love You Philip Morris. Anyone who loves Phillip Morris is sure to live a short life and thus make short films.  

Film Editing: Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work. Joan Rivers talks to much that I think anyone who had to sit and listen to her ramble for long enough to edit it down to film length must deserve recognition for it.

Foreign Language Film: Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work. I cannot under stand her when she speaks.

Makeup: Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work. This person’s job must have been so difficult. Sooooooo difficult!

Music (Original Score): The Kids Are Alright. The Who are one of my favorite bands and for them to remake this classic without Keith Moon or John Entwhistle is brave and must be rewarded.

 
Music (Original Song): Life During Wartime. Any film named after a Talking Heads song must have an amasing score.

Sound Editing: Bitch Slap.In order to make a movie about slapping bitches, the sound effects of the slap itself must be remarkable.

Sound Mixing: Kites: The Remix. I don’t think I need to explain my reasoning here.

Writing (Adapted Screenplay):  Avatar. I actually saw this one and I think James Cameron did a great Job re-writing Dances With Wolves  and Fern Gully.

Writing (Original Screenplay): Toy Story 3. I have no idea what this is about but I think if someone was able to write a third story about toys, they must be brilliant enought to win a prestigious award for it.

And last but certainly not least. . .

Best Picture: Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll. I mean come on. This just sounds sweet!

Leave a Reply

