Building the Raised Garden Bed

It is mid-March here in Colorado, and we have been graced with a couple days of beautiful weather. So I decided this was a good opportunity to get some of the outdoor work done while I had the chance. I measured out how much of the yard I was willing to sacrifice to this gardening experiment and found a location that has good sun exposure.

I decided I would build an 8X8 garden bed. If anyone is taking notes, that is significantly less ambitious than my original plan of having three raised beds, but plans change. So I went to Home Depot and got some untreated Dougas Fir. I have read varying reports on whether to use treated or untreated wood, based on the chemicals from the treatment getting into the soil and then into your veggies/food. Supposedly the treated wood is now safe to use for garden beds but I didn’t want to take the risk and got untreated. The Douglas Fir planks are 2X6’s. And I got a 4X4 of untreated cedar for where the corners meet.

20150324_090246

There it is. 8X8 with two 2X6’s, to make it taller. The corners are put together with the cedar 4X4. It is upside down in the picture, with the corner posts sticking up. I will dig about 4 inches down to plant those corner posts in the ground and the actual placement of the garden will be further back and in the corner of the yard. My project for this day was just to build the raised bed.

As you can see in the picture, the corner where I will be putting it is exposed to lots of sunlight. The entire fence in the background is exposed to the southern light. The photo above was taken at about 9am, so that spot will get plenty of sunlight early in the day.

2015032595141644 (1)

The above photo was taken at about 2:30pm. You can see that the weather has turned but that back corner is still getting a good amount of sun exposure. In addition to the exposure, that area of the yard gets hit by the sprinkler system and that 8X8 section won’t be covering up any existing sprinkler heads.

This coming weekend I will be starting to do the indoor planting for the veggies that need to grow inside a bit before they get transplanted into the soil. I know nothing about this so I will go into more depth as I learn more.

Leave a Reply

