Final resting place of the Garden Bed

In my last post, I had promised you, my loyal and non-existent readers, that I would start working on planting some of the veggie seeds. That did not happen. I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to lie to you. I did some research on when and where to plant the veggies, and every source I read gave me different information. So I’m forced to just learn through my own experiences and hope for the best. Once again, I see that the more I learn the less I know.

So I’ve decided just to wait for the last frost to pass and direct seed everything outside. In order to do this, I will need to have everything in place and ready once that last frost happens. So this past weekend I just kept working on the garden bed itself. This whole process has left me feeling a bit nervous. I knew that my chances of having a successful garden bed in my first season were not great, but I thought that if I invested enough time into the research I could figure it out and make it work. After doing said research, I now know that nobody knows how to do this. So I’m just going to wing it. I figure that the worst that can happen is that my garden will fail, my wife will recognize me for the incompetent worker that I am, take my son and my dog and find a real man.  Leaving me and my dead garden to look at each other and wonder where we went wrong.

Putting my intense paranoia aside, I dug the holes for the corner posts and placed the bed in it’s final resting place (morbid, I know).

BY LateAfternoon

As you can see, my wife, son and dog all decided they needed to be in the photo. You can also see that at this point in the day, around 5:30pm, the area will be in the shade. That should be perfect for me to get home after work and be able to put some work in, in the nice cool shade, after the garden has gotten about 8 hours of sunlight during the day.

Next, I started working on tilling the ground beneath the bed. As I understand it, this is done in order to get proper irrigation from the garden. The ground beneath the garden is fairly soft and easy to till. Still, I only got about 1/3 of the work done before dinner time/ beer time/ motivation evaporation.

Tilling

The weather this coming week looks a bit more like the Colorado weather I know and love. We are expecting snow storms on Thursday and maybe Friday, but I will continue to till throughout the week after the workday and hopefully have it all done by next weekend (ha!).

As always, I am The Man Who Bites Off More Than He Can Chew and I bid thee well.

Leave a Reply

